Loading... Please wait...

Our Newsletter

3 U.S. scientists awarded for promoting China-U.S. medical cooperation

HOUSTON, Sept. 25 (Xinhua) -- Three U.S. scientists at a prestigious cancer center in Houston on Sunday received "Distinguished Friends of China" awards given by the local Chinese Community at a gala for their efforts to promote medical cooperation between the United States and China.

The gala was part of the extensive activities held by the local Chinese community to celebrate the 62nd anniversary of the founding of the People's Republic of China in the fourth largest U.S. city of Houston.

All three awarded scientists were from the the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center.

MD Anderson Cancer Center President Ronald DePinho, Executive Vice president Raymond N. Dubois and physician scientist Lynda Chin, have made positive impacts on the China-U.S. relationship through promoting collaborations between various U.S. and Chinese institutions on medicine and cancer research, education, training, and patient care, said Keping Xie, chairman of the gala.

The MD Anderson Cancer Center is one of the U.S. original three comprehensive cancer centers. For eight of the past 10 years, including 2011, MD Anderson has ranked No. 1 in cancer care in the "America's Best Hospitals" survey published in U.S. News & World Report. The institute has cooperation with a number of Chinese hospitals and institutions.

Some 600 people, including officials from the Chinese Consulate General in Houston, leaders of overseas Chinese groups and representatives from all works of life, attended the gala, an annual event in Greater Houston Area Chinese community. The theme of this year's gala is "U.S. and China Coming Together to Face Mankind's Common Enemy -- Cancer."

Since 2000, the Chinese Civic Center and Chinese Community in the Great Houston area launched the "Distinguished Friends of China" awards to recognize and honor those who have dedicated years to promoting friendship between the United States and China.

Previous recipients included former U.S. President George W. H. Bush and Barbara Bush, Chinese basketball star Yao Ming, and Jose H. Villarreal, U.S. Commissioner General to the 2010 Shanghai World Exposition.

comments powered by Disqus

premium reishi extract discount offer